Around To It

“Around to it”. Just three words. How many of us have projects that are waiting for us to get “around to it”.  Most of the things that are waiting for us to get around to it have good intentions. Such as, “I’m going to be a better listener”, or “I’m going to treat others as I would like to be treated”.

It seems our good intentions often run into a snag.  It may be time, it may be opportunity, or it may just be an unwillingness to take that step to get “around to it”.

The preceding paragraphs are in part an excerpt is from a dissertation I wrote for our church bulletin one Sunday.

I am certainly guilty about not getting around to things.  The blog is a prime example. Numerous times I told myself that I needed to post to the blog, but did not get around to it.  Then I was surprised to see how much time had passed since the last posting.  I apologize for not posting in such a long time. No excuses, just didn’t get “around to it”.

Life on the bayou is running smoothly. My Mom is in a skilled nursing unit, going through physical therapy, and I am making quite a few trips between here and Snyder (130 miles one way). She is doing great and we hope that she will be able to get back to her apartment soon. I’ve set up a medical alert pendant for her, which will make me feel better about her being back in the apartment.

We have had a wet spring here, and it has helped the drought conditions around here. We haven’t had as much of the severe weather as some of the country.  We have had some hail, and a tornado touched down about a mile north of us. My neighbor and I watched as the funnel cloud traveled over our houses. We were about 15 feet from a cellar, but did we get in the cellar? No. Why? Because, common sense failed us at the time. Not the most intelligent thing I’ve done, to say the least.

I plan to post more often and not fall into the around to it mode. Things are going very well in life, and I plan to enjoy the beauty of life. God bless.

Ernie

10 responses to “Around To It

  1. Good to hear you are doing well! Happy you are getting some rain, but not happy about tornadoes! They are rare here, thank goodness, but we do get hurricanes! My daughter, Lisa Gould, met you and Susan in El Paso, a few years ago!

  2. Thanks for the update. Glad things are going well for you. Will say a prayer for your mother’s improvement. We could surely use some of the moisture here in very dry California! Are now being asked to cut our water over 30% of what we used in 2013.

  3. It’s so nice to hear from you, Ernie, and know that you’re doing ok. Posting often to the blog isn’t necessary, but I’m sure I’m not the only one who enjoys it when you do. Praying for your mom to be able to go home soon, and praying that you are adjusting to life more easily as the time passes. God Bless.

  4. You were missed. Always like to hear what is going on in your neck of the woods. Tornadoes….hate those things. I once lived in Arkansas and spent several nights on the floor in the downstairs bathroom..with two kids. I feel a little safer here in the mountains.

    I’m going to take your words to heart. Don’t keep putting things off….get off my duff and do it.

    You have a great Monday.

    L

    Bad spellers of the world untie

    Date: Mon, 18 May 2015 02:37:42 +0000 To: lynndianne55@hotmail.com

  5. What a great and timely reminder! Thanks so much for the posting: you have no idea how my heart lightens up when I see something from this blog even now although I remember how your first addition made my heart stop for a moment. Thank you for continuing to update us on the goings-on! =)

  6. Thanks for your message. Great to hear from you again. Mind out for those funnel clouds and look after yourself. Get well soon to your Mom. xx

  7. Ernie, Sounds like you are getting by and keep the kids around as much as possible. I know it is still hard but you are a strong man and you have really good support. I have enjoyed your continuation of the blog and will miss this part of having the internet but I am going internet free. Take care and know you and the family will always be in my prayers. God Bless, Ann