Weather on the Bayou

is damp and cold like the weather across the central and eastern part of Texas. I know that it is nothing like what the Northeastern part of the country is or has been going through. The temperature has been in the mid-twenties today and is supposed to be down to 20 tonight. Not too bad, considering. But couple that with the northern wind and the chill factor is in the low teens or single digits. Once again, I know that the temperatures and chill factors are worse in pretty much the rest of the country, but temps like these are not as common here as else where. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining, just stating facts.

Of course, anyone who has raised or who are raising children, know that days like this are hard on parents and children. The children get bored and want to be entertained, so in some cases they start to pick arguments with their siblings. This sometimes leads to a frustrating day for the parents. Now, there are no children in this house on the bayou, human children, I must add. Now let’s talk about the feline children. Today has been a series of opening the front door and letting cats out only to make it back to the kitchen or recliner just to have them beating down the back door to get back in. My goodness, it’s cold outside. Not only that but the ones who spend the majority of their time outside, and only come in to eat, decided today is a good day to be underfoot. Now, bored children have nothing on bored cats. What do we do, we pick arguments with pretty much every other feline in the house. They can’t all do it a one time, they have to spread it out over the entire day. Then amazingly, when it’s time to be fed, everyone’s on good behavior. These cats that we have rescued, adopted, or have been talked into caring for, are worse than kids. But, as Susan did, I love them all. Needless to say, it’s been a hectic day. But it has helped me to decide to post to the blog. I needed that.

I also have to say thanks to someone who sent a card and a kind message of sharing. It has helped get me thinking about the blog, and those who follow the postings. Today I decided to post the experience I went thru today. I plan to post soon with updates on CT scans, Burkett VFD news, and Life On The Bayou. I apologize for not posting in a while. It is my plan to do better in the future. One of these days I will learn how to post pictures also. It will probably take one of the our daughters showing me how. But sooner or later I’ll learn.

May all of you have a blessed day, month, year, life.
Ernie

12 responses to “Weather on the Bayou

  1. Blessings to you, Ernie. You’re right about the temperatures. Here in Western PA, my computer is telling me it’s 0 right now. We’re going to break a record for low overnight temp that was set in 1914! It’s -2. The last time we were told we’d probably break a record low (last week) it went to -9 at the Pittsburgh airport, but it was -15 here, about 40 miles away. I’d take your 20’s anyday!!! Thanks for the update – it’s always good to hear from you. God Bless.

  2. It’s so good to see you post! Arkansas is cold, too but not like the east coast. Still, Us southerners get cold, too. I’m glad the cats are doing well and acting just like mine. lol Many blessings to you, too.

  3. Brrrr! We’ve actually been breaking records for highs in Northern California. A little cooler now. Was 64 today. Might go to 39 tonight. Than high 60’s to 70 the next few days with 40 to mid 40’s in the night. But we badly need more rain. Know the kitties are a challenge, but fun. They (and you) are going to really appreciate Spring when it arrives! Thanks for posting. Good to hear from you.

  4. As always Ernie, it was so surprising and nice to hear from you again. Just to see Life on the Bayou in my mailbox makes me smile and think of the entire family. There are still times that I add Susan when sending a funny joke or kitty picture to my critter lovers. We’ve not been having record lows here in the Florida panhandle but darned close. Close enough for us to be chilled to the bone. We are worried about our northern friends. Can’t even imagine that weather. But, spring is on the way as usual lol Just a matter of time. As always, hugs to the kids, critters and you. Thanks for posting. Retta

  5. Nice to hear from you. Cold here in connecticut -6 this am maybe high of 20 really cold for this time of year and maybe more snow tonite hopefully not. Am ready for spring!!
    thanks for posting
    Kathy

  6. It’s so nice to hear from you, I’m so happy you continue to update us on your life and Susan would be proud. I have to agree with you between the weather and definitely the full moon it can be a struggle. I used to worry working night shift on a medical floor at the hospital as it was always going to be a wild one and fly by for sure but you never knew what you’d have to deal with. It’s -31C here today and even my dog isn’t having it, he’s out does his business and runs full tilt back to the house and I better be waiting at the door otherwise I think he’d run into it to get back in.

  7. I was just thinking this past weekend that you had not posted in a while and it caused me to say a little prayer, hoping all is well with you. So glad to see this post today. Kansas City has a small chance of snow tomorrow and then a bigger chance next weekend, but we have had it easy – even for KC averages so I’m not complaining. So good to hear from you, Ernie.

  8. Does my heart good to see the blog active. I was starting to worry you might not keep it going. Thank you.
    I agree the weather needs to move on to Spring and hopefully Summer. I know we will find something to complain about but we won’t be cold while we do.
    I’m down to one kitty and she is strictly an inside kitty. I’ve had her for over two years and I know she has times when she wants to go out and then she settles into one of her three beds and snoozes the rest of the day away. She is good company as I’m sure your crowd is for you.
    Take care and keep the blog going. Pictures would be nice but not necessary.
    God speed, Ann

  9. Our Smokey keeps scratching, thinking that the very *next* time we open the door it will be the door into summer! Not so! Glad to see you post Ernie, and happy that the cats are making sure you have plenty to do. :)

    Love you, alll the way from the cold Canadian foothills – almost wrote “fool” hills, that would have worked too. LOL

    “Auntie Deb”

  10. So good to read the blog! I don’t know if you remember meeting Lisa Gould in El Paso, but I’m her Mom. Lisa and my other DD, Billie Jo are cat lovers too. Hope you are feeling well. Susan is missed by so many.

  11. Yes cats are like kids, in and out all the time on cold and wet days. GOD bless you to, always.