Christmas on the Bayou

was quiet and low key. I spent Christmas Eve watching the Christmas tree lights and lost in memories of Christmas’ past with Susan. The holidays were definitely her most favorite time of the year. She loved the lights and the decorated Christmas tree.  Our daughter Laura  put up the outside lights the day after Thanksgiving.  I did help by holding the ladder for her. The lights look fantastic.  The tree I set up and decorated.  I could never even come close to decorating as well as Susan could, but the tree is for her.

From the first year we met and started being with each other, I gave her a butterfly of some sort every year for Christmas. I think most people knew of this fact. What is not known to all is why. The reason for the yearly gift is something that one day I will share with our children. The reason Susan and I held {and I still hold) the butterflies so dearly is one of those memories that will never fade.  This year, the 36th butterfly for Susan, I made into a Christmas ornament.  I placed it on the tree on Christmas Eve. I wanted it to be where Susan could see it as she watches over us.

Christmas Day I drove up to the DFW Metroplex to spend time with three of our four children.  I received a beautiful quilt from our daughter in Arlington. It is a quilt I will cherish forever. Stacie did a wonderful job on it. On the quilt are some things that have created the cherished memories.

Then it was over to Carrollton to have Christmas dinner with Lance , Leslie, Kathrine, Kenneth, Katey, Angela and Laura and Emylee and Sharon. Also for Christmas I received a hat that I have searching for for about ten years. Then it was back to Burkett. I did so enjoy the visits.

New Years will also be a quiet time here.  I plan to spend it in front of the fireplace and get lost in the beautiful memories of all the wonderful New Years Susan and I spent together. I would not trade them for the world.

I wish all  of you a blessed, safe, and wonderful New Year. May the coming year bring you happiness, health, and peace.  God bless you.

Ernie

10 responses to “Christmas on the Bayou

  1. Ernie, thank you so much for sharing such precious moments with us! Susan still holds a place in our hearts…

  2. It sounds like you had the perfect Christmas. I know Susan was with you as you watched the tree and remembered times together. God Bless you and your family in the New Year.

  3. a beautiful tribute to your life together… and it lives on, in your memories and in your children. Thanks for telling it.

  4. I knew Susan loved butterflies but don’t think she ever told me about your annual gifts. I remember the time she placed a branch in a jar so she could watch butterflies emerge from their cocoons. The love of butterflies is yet another thing she and I shared. They’re a symbol of new life. God Bless You Ernie.

  5. It’s so good that you share the life you had with Susan with us it’s like she’s still here. I’m so happy you were able to spend time with the kids. Wishing you and your family all the best in 2015.

  6. Thanks for keeping in touch with all of us. Holidays are the most difficult for those of us missing our loved one. So many pleasant memories come back as we reflect in the lights of the fire and the tree. May your love for Susan and her love for you sustain you in the dark moments and lead you to happy thoughts. Best wishes for 2015.