Beloved Susan

was called by the Lord on Memorial Day, May 26th. Susan passed away surrounded by loved ones. Our loss here on Earth is certainly heaven’s gain.

I’m her husband Ernie. I have wrestled with my feelings about posting to the blog, but feel that I owe it to those who follow her blog.  I know so many out there read her blog, as I did.  

We held a memorial service for Susan Saturday, June 15, here at the community center in Burkett. It was incredible the number of individuals who attended. There was standing room only.  She loved Burkett, and that community center.

Our beautiful Granddaughter had asked to read something she had written concerning Susan’s passing.   I would like to share this with you as it so appropriate.

For Grandma Susan,

I miss my Grandma Susan.

Sometimes remembering can be the most painful part of death. We want to remember what someone meant to us without the influence of the looming dread we felt over the inevitability of their death coloring our memory. We want to forget the pain and suffering we witnessed and felt too, ourselves, and piece by piece we block out what hurts the most and paint over the bad while the good heals us.

One of Grandma Susan’s favorite saying was “This too shall pass,” and the phrase did not fail to make its way to my ears only weeks before she herself passed away. It’s a painful memory that I will carry with me always, and something that I sometimes wish hadn’t been said because wrestling between hopefulness and reality isn’t easy, but her words rang with the truth.

This too shall pass.

We know Grandma Susan was not alone because she took a piece of all of us when she left, but one day we will be whole again.

Her time came not because she was weak, but because she’d been strong for too long.

Her strength, her spirit, and her memory will live on through us, and the lessons we learned from her are the very same that I hope to pass on myself someday.

This too shall pass,

and one day we will be strong again.
Emylee

With the passage of time the pain will diminish, the love never will.

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted. Matthew 5:4

As Emylee said it so well—“This too will pass”
Ernie

56 responses to “Beloved Susan

  1. I didn’t comment often but checked every day for a new post. I just yesterday emailed Judy L about Susan. She will be missed by so many of her blog friends . Be kind to each other and take care of yourself. She fought the good fight. Damn cancer!!

  2. I am so sorry. I know you will be lost for awhile. Susan was loved and she loved life. May you find comfort in knowing many people cared about Susan and we will miss her too. I will keep your family in my prayers.

  3. My sincere sympathies. I always enjoyed Susan’s post and she was always so positive. An example for us all!

  4. Emylee said what many of us couldn’t say and did it very well. She will be missed by all who knew her, even if it was via the blog. My sympathies to all of you, Ernie.

  5. My thoughts are with all of you. While I only knew Susan through her blog, I knew her to be a strong, loving, caring person. Hers was one of the few blogs I have followed for years. She was a source of inspiration for many people and will be dearly missed.

  6. I never met Susan in person but I feel like she was a good friend. Her bravery and her faith in God were indisputable. I’m sorry to read of her passing but I know she is looking down at all of us and smiling. Her friendship, talent, and her loving words will be missed by many. Thanks, Ernie, for letting us all know. May God bless you and yours, Jacqui

  7. Such sad news. But she was so proud of you and the family… and she fought long and hard. Prayers for all of you… and Susan, that she is in peace.

  8. Ernie, my deepest sympathy. Thank you for sharing your granddaughter’s thoughts on Susan’s passing. I’ve followed her blog for some time now, and was always inspired by her faith and positive attitude in the face of this disease. My prayers are with all of you today.

  9. I’m so sorry for your loss. I didn’t know her but have enjoyed her blog. May your heart be comforted in the days ahead.

  10. She helped keep all of us strong in our faith. She will be remembered. Prayers for you all.

  11. I never knew Susan personally, but really felt like I knew her from following her blog. As soon as I saw the post, I started crying. I’m not one to do that over someone I’ve never even met, but Susan touched my heart with her love of all her kitties, and the wonderful creativity she allowed the world to see. God bless you, Ernie. Hang in there, the best you can. Lean on your family when you need – they’re there for you. We are too. Blessings….

  12. Susan was an inspiration and a positive presence to all of us who followed her blog. I so admired her positive spirit no matter what trials she and her family faced. She seemed to be such a loving person. I am sorry for your loss. I am sure Susan is now pain free. Although it is painful for those she left behind, I know that a part of her will always be in your hearts and that she will be watching over you from up above. God bless all of you who are left behind who loved and cared for her so.

  13. Thank you for letting us know about Susan’s passing. I have no doubt that it must have been a very difficult thing to do. I only knew Susan through her blog and prayed for her each time she had to visit a doctor as well as any time I happened to think of her. I prayed for you as well because I know first-hand how difficult it is to be unable to make the one you love better. When my mom passed I found it helped to look not at what I had lost but what she had gained. She had MS and although her mind was still sharp as ever she had been trapped in a body that was useless for a very long time. Now both she and Susan have a new body and for that we must be thankful. I know they are.

    Yes, this too shall pass, but not before many more tears are shed, many questions left unanswered, and many sleepless nights are endured. May God give you and your family peace that only He can give.

  14. I am so sorry for your loss. Although I only knew Susan through this blog I will surely miss her. God bless you and your family.

  15. Susan made us feel like we were a part of her family. She is missed with love in our hearts. Many prayers in your behalf are being said.

  16. So sorry for the loss of Susan. I did not know Susan except thru her blog postings. Must say that I admired her strength and courage, never once did she complain about her illness.

  17. I will miss sharing this fine lady’s life through her blog. Bless you Ernie and all her family.

  18. We who knew Susan only through her blog loved her, Ernie, her cats and critters, her family and all of Burkett. We knew them well as she described them. We shared her trials and triumphs, her creativity, her cooking skills and her keen observations of the world around her. (on the bayou). We deeply felt her struggle with cancer (even though she kept us from most of it) and her real triumphs through her deep and abiding faith in God. Ernie, I know you are hurting and I pray God will hold you tightly in His hand and give you comfort. Bless you and your family. I know you are better people for knowing Susan.

  19. Thank you Ernie, for sharing Susan with us.
    This big world is a bit smaller with her passing.
    So sorry for your loss.

  20. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. I have enjoyed following her blog. May God be with you and your family as you grieve.

  21. Susan has been family to many of us for a very long time. God bless you all and grant you peace

  22. I’ve known PatchKat since you and the family were in Saudi and have loved all of your family through the chatroom and then through emails and this blog. Ernie, thank you for posting. Hug the family and keep them close. She fought her battles well.

  23. In 2 Timothy 4:7, Paul says, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.”

    My prayers go out for you and your family in your time of grief. May God hold and comfort you.

  24. I’m so sorry fir your loss. She will be missed by all. Em said is magically for all. Gods prayers to all.

  25. I was absolutely stunned to hear of Susan’s passing. I have been reading her blog for years and years and she had become a real presence in my daily life. She never complained much and when she did, it was with great humor. I loved her ranch stories and her recipes and how much she loved her family. Reading the stories of her daily life reassured me that the whole world hadn’t gone crazy and that there were people out there with their feet on the ground, the right values in their daily lives, and deep faith. The loss to your family is incalculable and my heart aches for each of you. Your Susan taught us so much in her gentle, humorous, sharing way. I loved Susan as a good buddy. She made the world a better place – she had an amazing impact on a world of people who really knew her only through her blog. Thank you so much for sharing this news Ernie. God bless you all and help you through this time of great sorrow.

  26. I am so sorry to hear of Susans passing. I shall miss her posts on this blog.
    Please accept my condolences.
    Aaltje (the Netherlands)

  27. While I never had the priviledge of meeting Susan in person, I have enjoyed her blog for a number of years. She will be missed greatly. God bless you all.

  28. Ernie, you and Susan were such great examples for your friends, family and community. Your strength, love and devotion to each other and the causes you believed in are only a part of what made you such wonderful folks and good friends. I will miss Susan, I will think of her often and am so glad I had the chance to get to know Susan through quilting, and you through Susan.

  29. I will miss her humor and her stories of her life. I have been reading her blog for a long time. Please know that all her blog friends will not forget her. Prayers winging their way for you and her loved ones.
    Beth in AZ

  30. This was such a beautiful post, Ernie. Emylee gave precious words in remembrance of Susan. I know my sadness doesn’t compare to yours and her family but I know Susan is with our dearest Father in heaven. My love and prayers for you all as you make this journey without her.

  31. Eternal rest grant unto her, O Lord,
    and let perpetual light shine upon her.
    May the souls of the faithful departed,
    through the mercy of God, rest in peace.

    God’s peace and strength be with you and your family.

  32. Ernie and Family, I am saddened to hear of the loss of your precious Susan. I will miss her upbeat outlook on life and the way she bravely fought the fight. All of you are in hundreds of prayers around the world. Stay strong and keep the faith.

  33. I was so sad to hear of Susan’s death. I only knew her through her blog and The Quilting Post. I thought her blog was the perfect balance of words and pictures, telling the story of a courageous Christian living her life before the face of God. She was a wonderful witness. “Well done, thou good and faithful servant.”

  34. Thank you for the kindness of letting us know about dear Susan! Like most here, I have followed Susan and your family for such a long time that her passing leaves a deep hole in my heart.
    Ernie, I send you and your entire family my prayers and gentle hugs during these hard days, and I wish many happy memories to fill your thoughts whenever Susan comes to mind! <3

  35. Thank you so much for letting us know about Susan. I loved reading her blog and getting updated on her latest adventures and health.
    I wish you and your family peace and prayers during this time.

  36. We all lost a treasure and a piece of our heart. You will feel her loss most keenly because you were with her every day, but I feel it deeply because I’m probably the one who’d known her longest – from the time she was a tiny baby in my brother’s arms. I know there was a joyous reunion in Heaven when she arrived. So many who loved her were waiting there. But we know she is at peace and her pain is over.

    These next few months will be especially difficult for you. But you are loved, and wrapped in the arms of prayer, which know no distance, or international borders.
    Make sure to take care of yourself, don’t try to *work* your grief out physically, or if you do, let the work be petting cats. :)

    Much love,
    Auntie Deb

  37. So Sorry for your loss Susan was a kind and wonderful lady and she will be greatly missed. May God love and comfort you in this your time of sorrow;
    Carol in Delaware

  38. So sad to hear the news of Susan. Prayers and thoughts coming your way as you all continue on this journey through life. I did not know Susan, only through reading her blog and she was truly a special person. ((hugs)) Elaine

  39. I’m sorry for your loss. I only knew Susan second hand, through her works. I pray for comfort and peace for your family.

  40. Ernie, my prayers are with you. Your Granddaughter said it so well. I too, lost my spouse to cancer earlier this year, so I can relate to your grief. As Susan would have said “This too shall pass”, or at least over time, I am told it does get better
    Take care!.

  41. Thanks for sharing about Susan’s passing, Ernie. Her blog postings will be missed but she was needed elsewhere. Bless her memory. My condolences to you and the family. Your granddaughter shared a beautiful writing and can only imagine how much Susan loved that.

  42. Ernie–our thoughts are with you. We too loved Susan and considered her as well as you good friends. Emylee said it so well–thank you for sharing. Our love and condolences are with you and your family.

  43. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family…may GOD bless all of you, and may you rest in the knowledge that she is with are father in heaven, where there is no pain only love….GOD bless you always..