Think the timing was a little off for these Christmas Cactus

DSCF9745   These Christmas Cactus have lived on the kitchen window ledge for almost 2 years.   Nary a bloom.   Suddenly,  after I watered them several days with WARM water,  they have deigned to bloom!   The largest one (Not shown) is going on 8 years…and it hasn’t bloomed since the first year we lived here…that was 2006.   Guess I need to repot and water it come Spring.  Maybe next year I can coax it into blooming.

The one on the left is a real pretty salmon/coral while the one on the right is pink.

In El Paso,  we had a Mexican Elder tree in the back garden.   In Summer time,  I’d move the hanging plants, including the Christmas Cactus under the tree.   I watered the plants every day and it was mostly shaded under the tree with a little filtered sunlight.  No matter how hot it got,  that Cactus flourished.    When the temps started dropping,  I moved the Christmas Cactus into the dining room where it bloomed it’s fool head off.  Absolutely covered in coral blooms for months.   It shared a corner with a Corn Plant that also bloomed for months.  First one I ever had to bloom….and the sweetest smelling flowers.

Susan ~ Patchkat

2 responses to “Think the timing was a little off for these Christmas Cactus

  1. My Christmas cactus likes to spend the summer in the porch. I bring it inside in October, and it blooms for Thanksgiving. If it spends the summer inside, it barely blooms at all.

  2. I have a huge Christmas Cactus in the bedroom (usually stays outside in the spring/summer) that usually blooms before Christmas (pale pale whitish/pink). It must be 25-30 years old. I have two small ones near the sliding back door which were cuttings taken from other cactus (pink) that are blooming now. Go Figure. I tore my orchid cactus apart because it had gotten tooooooo big and I’m getting tired of hauling it in when winter hits. Love cactus.

    Your cactus are lovely.

    Lynn

    The early bird gets the worm but the second mouse gets the cheese

    Date: Tue, 28 Jan 2014 02:43:32 +0000 To: lynndianne55@hotmail.com