Double Disappearing 9 Patch

The quilt shown in the header above is a double disappearing 9 patch.  (Which give you the smaller diagonal squares).    One of the most FUN quilts I’ve made.   I used up a bunch  of tone-on-tone and solid scraps.  The finished quilt turned out to be a large lap/twin sized.  I would like to do more with controlled color scraps.   I’m thinking it would look cool with a tan background and shades of reds/blues for the squares (think Quilts of Valor)…or maybe a pale yellow background with orange, rusts and browns for the squares.    I can also see lime greens, watermelon pinks and lemon yellows on a pale grey background.

I have too many plans…and need to retire soon or I won’t get anything done :-)

Susan ~ Patchkat

3 responses to “Double Disappearing 9 Patch

  1. Can you tell us how you made the double 9 patch in your header. It would be a great way to use up scraps. I love it.