Out sourcing….not always a good thing

well worth the couple of minutes it takes to watch.

https://youtube.googleapis.com/v/4FrGxO2Fn_M

Anyone who’s read my blog for any length of time, knows how strongly I feel about “buying American”.   It’s become a habit to look at the tags to see where our groceries, housewares, cleaning equipment and clothing come from.   After spending several weeks researching wear-ables,  I determined that very few articles of women’s clothing and foot ware are manufactured in the USA.   More and more of our non-perishable food is coming from overseas.   Housewares, toys, electronics, craft supplies?   Mostly from overseas.   What’s so bad about that?

Think about it…you’re an assembly line worker at a widget plant.   Your widget is outsourced to …let’s say Honduras so the company can cut it’s labor and production costs.    The domino effect comes into play.

You’re out of a job.   So are the office and cleaning staffs and all the company cafeteria workers.   Suddenly, there’s an empty building or two.   The local utility companies have lost an account,  the housing market suffers as those R & D people and key staff have to relocate to Honduras.  The schools lose students which lowers their federal funding and means they need fewer teachers.  The towns lose part of their tax base.   It also means the grocery store loses business as do the gas stations, day care centers, dry cleaners, restaurants and so on.   The repercussions of that one company moving that one widget overseas just keep on going.    And that’s just 1 product.

What can we do to restore our jobs?   Buy American.  It should be more than just a slogan to us.   It’s hard to find American made products, and yes, they’re generally more expensive, but it can be done.

When I was diagnosed with Cancer,  I got rid of my Teflon coated cookware.   I replaced it with stainless steel…but I had to do some serious searching to find USA made cookware that fit my needs.   I couldn’t just walk into the big box stores to find what I needed as they’re all purchasing from companies that have outsourced the wares.

Looking for USA goods is a great use for the computer as opposed to the games I often play, lol.    If we could all become more conscientious about what we’re spending those hard earned dollars on,  we could send a strong message to those outsourcing companies…bring our jobs home and we’ll buy from you.

7 responses to “Out sourcing….not always a good thing

  1. And make noise about the Trans Pacific Partnership, which would encourage more outsourcing as well as allow corporations to sue governments that make labor friendly laws or environmentally friendly laws. And buy less.

  2. I totally agree with you, and have tried to buy American as much as possible. My excuse when I don’t, is that I usually don’t have time to spend searching multiple stores and would probably have to drive several hours to get to them anyway. Poor excuse however in the longrun.

    I did have to “rant” a bit at my local supermarket recently. I wanted to buy some tilapia, but the sign in the seafood display said it was a product of Honduras. I asked the butcher why they bought that when there is a locally owned (by local farmers) tilapia “cooperative” about 150 miles from here that ships fresh tilapia all over the midwest. His answer of course was that “corporate” buys the products, not the local stores.

    • My point exactly. “Corporate” is saving bucks by buying from overseas…and those local farmers are struggling to make a living because they cannot compete with the “corporate” pricing offered in the big box stores. Eventually, the local farmers will have to give in and lose the battle…and anyone they employ along with their suppliers will lose revenue and jobs. We ran into that same thing with fresh Salmon. Even our canned goods. Stuff is being grown in the USA and shipped overseas for packaging. How dumb is that?

  3. And another solution is to buy durable goods at second hand or thrift shops. Keeps them out of the landfill and keeps new from being imported. We also did a lot of freecycling when we lived in BC. A post to the Freecycle site saying; “We have this to give” or “We could use this if someone has one they don’t need.” always brought results. You can pick up amazing things through Freecycle.

    Love you,
    Auntie Deb

    • Auntie Deb, we shop the second hand stores. I’ve only done a little freecycling as it’s not really an option here. It’s not that I mind paying for things, I just mind paying for things that SHOULD’VE been made, packaged and handled in the USA.

  4. I don’t mind paying for things either, but when I can’t find locally produced I feel it’s better to buy something second-hand than buy new goods from China, Mexico or Timbuctu. At least my $ hasn’t gone into the coffers of the multi-national corporation which is exploiting the labor of people in slave-like conditions abroad. This is an issue I’ve wrestled with for many years, and at the moment I’m deeply unhappy with our living situation, and the state of my health, which makes living my principles of sustainability almost impossible.
    Love you little, love you big, love you…
    Auntie Deb

    • LOL…nothing funny about the health issues. I love you little, love you big too…what good little piggies we are!