We’re off to see the wizards of science…

Today is the day we head for Houston.   Nothing like a brisk morning of work…then 6 hours of driving :-)    I’m so fortunate to have Ernie as my chauffer.   I don’t do well with distance driving anymore….and neither of us enjoys night driving.   Boy!  What a change.   In my single days, it was nothing to jump in the car with the girls and make the 9 hour drive from El Paso to Arlington.   We would hit the road after 5PM.    Sometimes we’d spend the night in Midland/Odessa area…sometimes we’d drive straight through.   Now,   I wouldn’t dream of leaving after 5PM and if I did,  we’d be stopping for the night in Van Horn, lol.   2 hours would be my max.

Things have sure changed as I’ve gotten older.

I’m thankful Ernie is willing to tackle the driving challenges leaving me to sit in the passenger seat and kibitz or holler depending on how I like his driving!   I think he wears ear plugs – or mentally turns on his selective hearing.   He does occasionally offer to change places with me.

I’m also thankful our daughter Stacie is available and willing to come kitty/house sit when needed.   The kitties don’t even know we’re gone as Stacie spoils them sooooo bad.

Please keep us in your prayers as we make the trip and I go through the testing (torture).

Susan ~ Patchkat

 

8 responses to “We’re off to see the wizards of science…

  1. prayers are with you and Ernie. Have a safe trip and stop occasionally to “smell the roses” (take a break) if needed.

  2. I will do double time on the prayers for you. I’m sure Ernie will need some also….I know how Nick would feel. You guy be careful and keep me posted. Hugs and Love, Jo & Nick Date: Tue, 24 Sep 2013 14:44:24 +0000 To: highplainsstitcher@hotmail.com

  3. Keeping you both in our prayers and good thoughts for the week of testing. God Bless.
    Wanda