Orange Chiffon Cake

Spent awhile in the kitchen today trying out a new recipe.   The Burkett Volunteer Fire Department Annual BBQ is next weekend.  We have a bake sale and I normally bake several special type cakes.   This year,  I wanted to try something new…so today was the trial run for the Orange Chiffon Cake.    Think large angel food cake size and texture… It was a little tedious to make and it looks great, tastes great, but….   DSCF9006

Somehow,  I was expecting a stronger “orange” flavor.  I’m a little disappointed that it’s not what I had my mind (and mouth) set on.    Ernie said the icing is killer.   I’m not sure what I could do to get a stronger orange flavor in the cake….it uses orange juice concentrate, but maybe some orange extract could be added?   Anyhow.  I may try it again,  but not before the BBQ.

My standby cakes  are Triple Lemon Delight….It’s 3 layers of lemon, lemon, lemon…and a triple layer Coconut Cream Cake.    They’ve always sold for  $50-70.00 each.  Not too shabby, but after 3 years of the same cakes….would be nice to offer something different.   The specialty cakes and the Nice Boss Lady’s banana pudding always bring big money.

Oh well…we’ll enjoy this one…and I’ll keep looking for a new “best” cake!

Susan ~ Patchkat

 

6 responses to “Orange Chiffon Cake

  1. Now that’s a cake! Susan I think what you want to try adding is orange zest to give it a really orangy taste . When I was trying to make my orange chocolate chip scones to taste like the ones I love at the coffee shop – I was using orange extract and a bit of orange juice and it just wasn’t orangy enough. Now I skip the extract and just zest a whole orange or sometimes two and use the juice from them and it’s got great orange flavor.

  2. I was just going to mention orange zest–lemon zest works wonders for the lemon goodies. I grab an orange and go for it!

  3. Before I read the other comments and after reading your post my first thought was fresh orange zest also.

  4. Have you ever tried Orange Slice cake? candy orange slices, coconut, pecans, Heavy cake but oh so good. Could send you mothers recipe.