Winter Wonderland!!!

We were forecast to have some rain last night mixed with snow…nothing to stick, no accumulations.   We did have a little bit of rain, but what a gorgeous sight we awoke to this morning!

back 40the back corner of our yard…pretty!  This was maybe a 3″ snowfall.  Snow covers a multitude of ugly!   We had cardinals on the feeder…first time in forever that we’ve had birds.   Guess the kitties scare most of them off.  This morning the birds were hungry, so the cats weren’t much of a deterent.  Ernie will have his hands full keeping the feeders full today!

bridgeand the bridge over the Pecan Bayou…the bayou splits an area known as the Pecan Grove that was a park way back in the early years.   Carnivals used to set up in the grove, families picniced and played.  Now it’s overgrown and just the pecan trees are left.   Our side of the Bayou has pecan trees, but was mostly park picnic area, so we have more grassy area than trees along the bayou.    The snow on the trees was really pretty. 

We’re at 36 degrees now, so most of it has melted away.   The drive to work was foggy and a little slushy, but not bad.

There you have our first snow of 2013~ 

Susan ~ Patchkat

2 responses to “Winter Wonderland!!!

  1. It’s always beautiful to wake up to a gorgeous snow until you think – I have to drive to work. It is nice just to stay in and sew on cold, beautiful days like that.

  2. Hi Susan & Ernie, I know I am a little late but I hope your Holidays were everything you wanted them to be. Every year at Christmas I am fighting bronchitis trying to keep from going into pneumonia. I keep up with you all and TQP but have a hard time jumping in anymore…..jumping in, jumping out, jumping up and jumping down. I have not sewed much in months….mostly stitching stuff. I have two complete sets of “over the river and through the snow” and now doing the 3rd. set for the grandkids…..10 in all for the oldests. Even have the fabrics for the first two just no energy to get them together. I keep hoping for some pep. My breathing wears me down. Anyway, Julie and got “nook C” for Christmas and I did get covers made for both. I think that happened because the doc gave me a steriod shot to help with the congestion and it always peps me up….just can’t take it too much. I see the Snow must have stopped at your place…..really beautiful. We waited all day yesterday and through the night but absolutely nothing, not even the rain. Julie even took a vacation day in anticipation so as not to drive 40 miles to work. Oh well, One of these days we hope to get down you way to stop and say hi. In the meantime, stay safe and happy. Love, Joanne and Nick Date: Fri, 4 Jan 2013 19:26:22 +0000 To: highplainsstitcher@hotmail.com