A Stripe is Found…..

 Okay Miss Melba….thanks to your comment,  I had to go stash diving yet again.

But,  I did find a stripe in  the stash that has the right blues, purples and greens.   Don’t know who the manufacturer is as the selvedge edge is gone..and I have less than a half yard of it…so will be a challenge to find a pattern where I won’t need more fabric.

Thanks for reminding me of the stripe!  I think it will work just fine and I enjoy working with stripes.

I’ve enjoyed reading your comments on patterns.   WWanda,  I don’t have enough of the floral to make those huge blocks in your pattern.

HOWEVER,   I might could reduce the block size and use it, or  draw my own pattern with similar style.

I’ve been thinking of a disappearing 9 patch starting with 6.5″ or 9.5″ blocks.   Need to play in EQ for awhile and see what pops up.  I just know I don’t want to cut the floral into anything smaller than 6.5″.

 

 Anymore suggestions?  As always,  I welcome your suggestions and value your opinions.  The stripe has to stay…I don’t have anything in the stash even close to these colors.

Susan ~ Patchkat

8 responses to “A Stripe is Found…..

  1. Maybe you could just use the stripe in the border some way–piano strips of all of your fabrics or squares??? Just a thought. I love your fabrics. They sure pick up all of the colors in the large print. And all in your stash!!

  2. Susan, the smaller size only has 2 of the large blocks, or as you say, Cutting the size down would work too. I like the stripe in the border also or as binding.

  3. I thought of another idea for a border. I’ve seen some done by using a strip of the fabric down the left side from the upper corner, maybe with a cornerstone. And then a similar strip from that cornerstone across part of the top.. Sometimes they are of a different length. Then the same thing is done from a cornerstone in the lower right corner. Is that clear as mud? You could run the strips the best way to suit your fabric. Then use one of your other fabrics for the balance of the border.

  4. great looking stripe! Can’t wait to see what you do with all those great coordinating fabrics