Teeth? Who needs them???

I had a tooth just break and fall out the other day.  Next day found me at the dentist for an extraction.  Couple that with the mouth ulcers from the chemo and what a mess you have.  Hit the oncology clinic yesterday for regular monthly appointment.   Lost another 4.2lbs.  Blood work was mostly good, but we don’t have the cancer tumor marker numbers yet.   The last ones (September)were higher than August…and expect this month’s to be higher still.    If that’s the case,  I’ve told the oncologist that I’m ready to come off chemo and put this darned disease totally in God’s hands.

Okay, back to the dentist.   The tooth that broke is not the one I originally needed extracted  :-(    the dentist has refered me to an oral surgeon in Stephenville (about 65 miles away) as there is a wisdom tooth empacted into the molar that needs to come out.   Can we say “yippie, skippie… I can’t wait”.    Have I mentioned lately that I have an aversion to dentists?  I’m so tired of having my mouth hurt and being unable to eat…

Looks like I’m not only going to be hairless, but maybe toothless too.   Cancer knows no bounds.

Susan ~ Patchkat

9 responses to “Teeth? Who needs them???

  1. Oh, boy! I wish I could say something to make you feel better! What a load you are carrying! I hope you find a dentist that is gentle and kind so that you can eat again!

  2. I don’t like dentists either. I always go in and say “We’re not going to hurt each other, are we?” My husband and I have been spending a lot of time with dentists.

    My prayers go out to you. Hang in there. I know there are a lot of people who are keeping you in their prayers.

    Lynn

    The early bird gets the worm
    but the second mouse gets the cheese

    Date: Fri, 19 Oct 2012 01:36:42 +0000
    To: lynndianne55@hotmail.com

  3. Thoughts and prayers coming your way…. hope you get through the mouth/dental issues soon…

  4. I believe God has you in his hands and will take care of you. Physical beauty is an over-rated thing anyway. Real beauty comes from the inside and you are “so” beautiful. Love you.

  5. Dear sweet Susan. There are ways of having dental work today completely painless. They put you to sleep and when you wake up it is all over. I have had it done that way and it’s the way to go especially if you are chicken about dental work. You will have a completely different outlook about having dental work done. All the best to you, I know you have been through a lot with your chemo already.

  6. Dear Sues, it’s called “conscious sedation” and with it you sail through the dental work without a skipped heartbeat. Locals don’t work on me so I’ve had CS for years. It takes the stress out of dental work. :) Big big hugs…
    Love,
    Deb

  7. I too had an impacted wisdom tooth. The first quack dentist did a root canal on it and put the post down into the nerve. Fortunately, I found a good dentist who had it pulled correctly (under anaesthesia) and later I had implants done. But I’m a big baby at the dentist so I have to have nitrous before I’ll even open my mouth to have them cleaned. I’ll pray your find a painless and quick solution to your dental problems and that your cancer numbers straighten out.