More vermiposting questions

My worms seem to be happily munching on the stuff in their bucket, but I have some questions for the experienced Vermiposters…

1.  Do I need to “water” their bucket?  If so,  how often?  I have screening on the top, should I have put holes in the bucket too?

2.  How often should I add food to the bucket?  I’m using kitchen scraps, tea bags and coffee stuff, torn pieces of cardboard.   Should I be adding anything more?   With them being contained rather than in the ground,  I don’t know if they’re getting whatever they need.

3.  How large should their container be?   I’m using an oval cat litter bucket that’s about half full of dirt and stuff.

4.  Do y’all keep your bins covered?

5.  How long do I need to wait before I have my first batch of worm castings?

All those questions, lol.  I’ve never raised worms, so know absolutely nothing about keeping them healthy.   All the instructions I’ve found have been more for building the bins, not for maintaining the worms.

Ernie is going to the coast to do some fishing next week….wonder if he thinks he’s going to get my worms?????  NOT!

Once again,  I welcome all comments and suggestions.

Susan ~ Patchkat

 

6 responses to “More vermiposting questions

  1. everything I’ve ever read about worm composting is that the worm bin needs to be “as damp as a wrung out sponge.” hope this helps

  2. Susan, I can remember my Daddy and Grandpa raising worms. I know you have to keep it covered or the worms will crawl out; also, I remember Grandma feeding them with the grease from frying fish (room temp), seems like she gave them kitchen scraps(veggie scraps cut small), and keep the soil damp.
    Hope this helps.
    Lisa in Alabama

  3. Dad kept his in an old fridge liner about 2.5’x4′ (metal box only, no door) laid on its back. Yes water! Soil should be moist, not dry. Holes in bottom yes-to drain excess water. Lift off groound with bricks or they escape. Yes cover – keep out of sun, a piece of tin with a brick on top under a legustrum worked for us. Yes feed. We sprinkled a little cow feed on top of half the surface. Can’t say how much. A hand full seems about right. Cant say how often, but not if food was still visible. Just a dusting. We would never water or feed over the whole surface. It gave the worms a choice if not to their liking.

    • Oh, the secret to finding the worms was to gently dig by hand where we were putting the food. We would plan the feedings so that we fed a little in one section the day before a fishing trip to find them easily. Clean out any soured or caked food. I think there was a layer of screen on the very bottom to cover the holes before he put the dirt in? He never changed the soil. The drain holes, which I am sure were many, were created by a large nail. Like these designs you see on tin lamp shades. Sometimes we would have to prop up or angle the tin to allow heat to escape. That tin with a brick on top the screen kept out critters that like to eat worms or the food you are feeding the worms. Our box was big enough to not worry about freezing, but we would not water if it was going to get too cold. Dad had faith the worms would make it by going to the center of the box. Thanks for the memories. Feeding the worms was one of my chores.

  4. Somebody threw out one of those under bed storage containers. We filled it with a bag of potting soil and planted dill. One or two dill plants came up first year. Following years more dill than you can use in a lifetime. We ignored it. It grew anyway. I emptied the box this year and it was teeming with big juicy worms. Don’t know where they came from. I never watered. Never put any food in. They must be pretty hardy.