Renewable crop?

What a fun idea…grow your own celery from the leftover root end of the old head.

This would be a great project to do with children.   We always used green beans because they sprout so quickly and are easy to work with.  Celery would be easy too and make a lasting impression as it grows very fast and is so cute.

This is 3 days growth…all I did was set the business end of the celery in a little bit of water.   Sure didn’t take it long to send up the first few stalks.   I need to transfer the whole mess to a pot of dirt and set it in some filtered sunlight.  

Imagine…if you took care of it, you would never have to buy another bunch of celery!  

Susan ~ Patchkat

 

3 responses to “Renewable crop?

  1. I look forward to seeing your input to everything in life not just quilting. Blessings and all the best in everything you do. Growing celery I will try.

  2. I have rooted a lot of plants this way but never would have thought of celery. For someone like me that uses very little , it would keep it alive and fresh for the times that I needed some,, thanks for the info.