Prey and Predators…

Evenings find us listening to coyote howls, owl screeches, coon chittering.  Living in the country, everything is either hunting or hiding.

I’ve been watching this gal for the last few days.   Photo is blurry cause I was on telephoto from about 2′ away…and not very stable.  That’s as close as I care to be.

 I’ve seen her with a grasshopper twice her size and tonight,  who knows what will be on her menu.  I hate spiders, but have been assured that the Wolf Spider’s bite is painful and mildly venomous.   I’d prefer to just watch her hunt, lol.   I don’t want to be her prey.

That’s a 2″x4″ board she’s on, so you can gauge her size…the body is a little over an inch and with those long legs, she’s about 3-3 1/2″ long!  She can run really, really fast!  She lives under our front steps. 

We have a pact…you don’t sneak up on me and I won’t feel the need to stomp on you.

Susan ~ Patchkat

8 responses to “Prey and Predators…

  1. That’s my attitude to spiders, always outside and sometimes inside. I’ve helped them out of the bathtub so that they don’t drown, and if they hide while I shower, they live. I’ll take their bug eating services.

    • I understand your reaction. I am terrified of spiders…it’s taken me 63 years to be able to stand 2 feet away and take pictures. She’s out there again tonight. I give her a wide berth and in the morning, she’s hidden under the steps, so I don’t have to tip toe around her. It’s not the best situation, but she does eat bugs. We’ve always had Praying Mantis out there too, but haven’t seen a single one this year.

  2. UGH!!! I believe I could run faster than her, grin! Having been bitten by a black widow spider I have learned a neat dance routine, grin, it’s called the Spider Stomp! Barbara in western NC

  3. Ewwww….that would be a smooshed spider here. And no regrets either. I’ll just depend on those chameleon looking thingies to eat the bugs…..that and the bug zapper.

  4. My first reaction as well would be to stomp that lady. My fear of spiders borders on phobic, especially if I am “trapped”. That being said, as spiders are very beneficial to gardeners, I think I would move that 2×4 to a place where she can live and NOT scare the you-know3-what out of me.

    And now a spider story… When we were buying our house and checking it out. I had been surprised to find that they had put glass block windows in the basement. Now, think OLD house basement – dark, low ceiling, damp. I was tapping on the window when I noticed a large black spot next to my hand. I looked closer and to my absolute horror, it was a BIG black spider about 4″ long with legs. I screamed and dove up the steps where I paced for minutes and tried to get images of that spider jumping on me and crawling up my arm.

    I made my husband place a bug bomb in the basement before we moved in!

  5. Spiders reproduce in staggering numbers. If you don’t herds of spiders, smush it now.

  6. Living in Florida, we’ve had more than our share of spiders.
    When we first moved into this house, it was black widows. They disappeared (thank God) and we had wolf spiders which we actually really liked – I was raised in an arachnic-friendly home and the wolf spiders were amusing to watch but so fast we never had to worry about stepping on one or sneaking up on one. Now they’ve gone and I see the occasional Daddy Longlegs, but I’d rather have the wolf spiders back. They were a good natural insect solution for the less desirable palmetto bugs and roaches!