~ ~ ~ Blessings ~ ~ ~

 

What a welcome sight!   The onion field became a watery pasture fueled by the runoff from the “bayou river” (our street, lol.)   We’re so dry here.  Even with the rains we’ve had, the tanks, lakes and bayou are dangerously low. 

Last night we had a 3 minute frog stangler type shower, followed by an hour or so of misty stuff.  It may have rained a little more in the early AM as the streets were damp around the edges.   We’re so thankful for every drop that falls. 

Tomorrow, when the sun is shining, all the pecan tree leaves will be standing out from their little stems all firm and happy again…they’ve been hanging limp and wilted for days.  The tomatoes will look clean and riper…and what little grass is left will look brighter and greener.

This afternoon,  the flood gates opened for about an hour and blessed us with almost 1 1/4″ of much needed rain.  I had to pull off the hwy coming home as I was doing 25mph and still couldn’t see the road for the gales of rain!   The whole week shows the potential for more rain :-)  The Lord is good.  

Susan ~ Patchkat

Stashbusting a little more ~

Have to admit,  I haven’t done much quilty this past week.   I used a bunch of red, cream, and purple scraps to make 65 crumb blocks.   Using a large scrap (about 1.5 yds), I cut 6.5″ squares.  Added those to the crumb blocks for 130 HST blocks.  I plan to set them in a zig-zag fashion for another charity quilt top.   I won’t count the quilt top until it’s ready for quilting…but I am counting the fabric.   I also cut borders and binding for another large lap quilt.  

  • Yardage purchased this week –  0 yds
  • Yardage used this week    5.25 yds
  • Year to date purchased –  11 yds
  • Year to date used (goal 300 yds) –  67.75 yds
  • UFOs (goal 10) –  1
  • Charity quilt tops made – ytd (goal 20) –  4
  • Charity quilts completed – ytd (goal 20) –  5

I’m so far behind…and we’re 7 months into 2012.  It’s going to take superhuman days to even come close, lol.  Oh well…it’s a good thing these are just personal goals and not a contest!   You know what ~  Without the Lord’s help,  I wouldn’t have this much done! 

Susan ~ Patchkat