The Story….and the Link for Block 1

 

 Author unknown

Once there were three trees on a hill. The trees were discussing their hopes and dreams. The first tree stated “someday, I will be a treasure chest filled with gold, silver and precious gems. I’ll be decorated with intricate carving and everyone will see the beauty.”

The second tree stated “I’ll be a mighty ship carrying kings and queens across the waters. Everyone will feel safe in me because of the strength of my hull.”

The third tree stated “I want to be the tallest and straightest tree in the forest. People will see me on the hill and think of how close to the Heavens and God I am reaching. I will be the greatest tree of all times and people will remember me.”

After a few years of praying that their dreams would come true, a group of woodsmen found them. One approached the first tree thinking that he could cut and sell the wood to a carpenter. He cut the tree down and the tree was happy because he knew the carpenter would make him into a treasure chest. The second woodsman cut down the second tree because it was a strong tree and could be sold to the shipyards. The second tree was happy as he knew he was on his way to being a big and mighty ship. The third woodsman cut the third tree. The tree was frightened, and sad as he knew his dream could never be fulfilled.

When the first tree arrived at the carpenter’s shop, he was made into a feed box for the animals. The feed box was filled with hay and put into the barn. This was not what the first tree had prayed for and he was very unhappy.

The second tree was cut and made into a small fishing boat. His dreams of becoming a mighty ship were at an end.

The third tree was cut into large pieces and left alone in the dark.

As the years went by, the three trees forgot their dreams. A man and woman came to the barn where the woman gave birth. The man laid the baby in the feed box. The first tree could feel the importance of the event and knew it held the greatest treasure of all time.

Years later, a group of men took the small fishing boat onto the waters. A great storm came and the boat was afraid it couldn’t keep the men safe. One man was sleeping and became awakened by the others. He stood up and said “Peace” and the waters were still. At this time, the tree knew it had carried the King of Kings in the small boat.

Finally, someone came for the third tree. This was carried along the streets by a man while the people mocked, spit and cursed him. When they came to a stop, the man was nailed to the tree and raised into the air on the top of a hill. When Sunday came, the tree realized that it was strong enough to stand at the top of the hill and be as close to God as was possible, because Jesus had been crucified on it.

Each of the trees got what they wanted, but not in the ways they had imagined. Remember, when things don’t seem to be going your way, always know that God has a plan for you. If you place your trust in Him, He will give you great gifts.

Yardage information can be found in the Christmas Town Sampler button at the top of the blog page.   Don’t forget you will need to visit Denise, Sheryl, and Judy’s blogs for the other 3 July blocks.   Their blog links are also there under “Basic Information”.

Here’s the link for my block 1 –  The Three Trees : https://7and7.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/the-three-trees-5-20-12-1.pdf

Enjoy making your blocks.

Susan ~ Patchkat

16 responses to “The Story….and the Link for Block 1

  1. Susan,
    Thank you so much for this beautiful block. The story is so fitting for this quilt and personally for me in my life. Just know that you’ve touched someone today in a very special way. I can’t wait to make the block!

  2. Thank you for that story – it’s a favorite of mine! Love the Christmas trees – I have the perfect evergreen batik for them!

  3. Susan, Thank you SO much for the block and the story. We need to hear over and over again that we need to bloom where we are planted don’t we?! If this quilt becomes a gift, I will be sure to tell the story of the 3 trees. I am off to dive in the stash!

  4. Oh I love reading about the trees and it’s a great message for all!

    Hugs,
    CajunBear

  5. Lovely story and lovely block – I just finished stitching The Three Trees!

  6. Wow….I am hoping to join in…..I have so many projects started but I must do this one….I love this story and what a great way to share it with others…..could I possibly gift this and include the story?

  7. if I print out the trees in landscape the pieces don’t come out the right size. Printed in protrait or regular they come out right. anyone else have this happen?

    • THey need to be printed in portrait format. I printed my first set out with the size to page option pushed…(that’s our default setting). Needless to say, that didn’t work, lol.