Day 3, Lake Brownwood Retreat

Coffee, bagel, sewing!  That’s the order of the morning.   I worked with some “ugly” fabric from a Sunshine friend…started working on blocks from scratch, no pattern, just an idea…and it worked!!!!   I did have to rethink a couple of areas as I was working with very limited quantities of scraps from the stash.  Photos by Monday.   I finished the quilt top and will get it in the mail to Ann soonest.

WWanda worked on her NYE Mystery quilt.  Her top is now finished!   I love her colors…pinks, greens and a deep reddish, purpley pink.  That’s 2 finishes for each of us…not bad for 2 days of quilting.  

Judy had cooked White Bean Chili for our dinner and had plenty of sandwich stuff for today’s lunch.  All good!  We never, ever go hungry at these retreats.   There were all kinds of snack food, chips, cookies, cream cheese with Chipotle Raspberry Sauce, crackers, nuts, candy, oranges and pretzels.   I did say there was plenty of food, didn’t I?????

This evening, Judy had us all put out everything we’ve worked on so that everyone could take photos.  We also introduced ourselves (hey…better late than never!) and I met a few of my blog readers.  Now I have faces to put with the comments. 

WWanda finished a couple of old BOM kits and I sewed on NYE Mystery quilt #2 after dinner tonight.   Hopefully,  we’ll have the current projects finished in the AM before we have to pack it up and head home.   It’s been a fun retreat and I feel like I’ve gotten lots done AND  I will have numbers for my Stashbusting report tomorrow!  YEAH~

The hotel has been real nice…rooms are nice, everything is new.   Only con…the sewing room is upstairs.  That’s lots of heavy carrying.  We’ll hae to do that in the morning.    All that food…..the sewing machines, all the bags…argh!  Where are the valets when you need them???

Susan ~ Patchkat

Comments are closed.