Finally ~ I can unveil the “mystery” quilt

Don’t know if anyone remembers, but I spent several weeks working on a quilt that I couldn’t post about.   No, it’s not going to be published anywhere but here, and I”m not famous, lol. 

One of my dearest friends, Wanda lost her Mother awhile back.  A few on-line friends joined me in making heart blocks for a memory quilt.  

Wanda’s Mother was a gardener, loved birds and kitties…she cooked, baked, was a candy maker and enjoyed all things family.  In honor of that, we chose light backgrounds and flower coloered prints.  The blocks began arriving shortly after the call for blocks went out.  I started laying them out and trying to figure out the placement. 

Even though I assembled the top, quilted, labeled and bound the quilt, it was the love and caring worked into those blocks from Wanda’s friends that make this quilt special. 

 Here’s a shot of the backing and the label.   Many thanks to all who sent blocks…you helped to create a quilt that Wanda can wrap up in when she needs that extra hug.   Thank You.  

Oh, someone asked me about the kitty…Wanda and I are both kitty lovers as was her Mom.  We had a black kitten named Taz who loved Wanda’s Mom’s socks.  He licked them every chance he got and carried them off to his lair.   They found their way under the beds or the living room chairs…always necessitated a sock search…I thought it only fitting that Taz should be a part of Mona’s quilt to keep her fiesty spirit wrapped around Wanda.

Susan ~ Patchkat

3 responses to “Finally ~ I can unveil the “mystery” quilt