Do you ever….?

I went to bed last night thinking about a quilt I wanted to make…. dreamed about it, and HAD to make it!  Think it turned out pretty good for something that never went into EQ7 or onto a tablet.  Just in my feeble mind!  Sticking with normal block sizes meant not having to do any math to make it work.  My kind of quilt!

“When Blocks Collide”  is what you get when 9 Patch blocks collide with Rail Fence Blocks, lol.   The white background fabric is a subtle print that has been in the stash since 2002.  There is enough left for 27 more blocks…so I’ll pick another background and make a second donation quilt.

Super easy quilt…great for scrappy and perfect for a kid :-)   This one is made with 6.5″ blocks and measures 42″ x 52″.  The center colored strips came from the 2.5″ scrappy square box!    Didn’t make a dent in a single row of what’s in that box :-(   The white rails are 2.5″ x 6.5″.   I used 35 blocks. Quick directions follow:

1.  Sew 3 – assorted 2.5″ squares together, (you’ll need 105- 2.5″ squares for 35 blocks) add the rail strips on either side. (cut 70 rails)  Press to the outside rails. 

2.  Set the blocks together alternating directions, press to the rails (you should have 35 blocks). 

3.  Set the rows together (5 across, 7 down), nesting the block seams.  You’ll want an odd number of blocks in each row and an odd number of rows to make your pattern balanced.   I chose to use a single border of the background fabric, but you could add a colored strip as framing first. I’ll bind this one with a scrappy binding to bring out the center colors.

I will make this one again, using 3.5″ squares for the center strips which will make up into 9.5″ blocks.  Told ya!  Easy Peasy!

Susan ~ Patchkat

 

 

6 responses to “Do you ever….?

  1. What a great idea! Don’t you sometimes hate those dreams though? I have to get right on them, or it makes me crazy!
    I love that though. I need a bbquilt, and that will be just perfect!
    Thanx! Jeri

    • I’ve been told to keep pencil and paper next to the bed so I can make notes…but if I have to wake up, turn on lights, I might as well get up! Most times, I can go to sleep and remember in the AM. Fortunately, those quilty night dreams don’t happen often :-)

    • Paula, I like the WOW too, but can see it done with a solid green or blue background and 30’s prints for the blocks…or a black background with bright batiks!