OOOooops!

Talk about being off in our own little worlds…. 

I took the vehicle and trailer registration paperwork to the courthouse yesterday.   Handed them to the lady and waited while she figured up the total so I could write my check. 

Her first question was ” have you received any citations for an expired registration?”  WHAT??? 

Seems my registration ran out in MAY,  not June like I thought, but the sticker I could see from inside the van says 6/11 – yep, it sure does.  I checked when I went outside.  Unfortunately, that is for the SAFETY Inspection and not the registration!  Don’t I feel dumber than Texas dirt.

Ernie came into town today and got the van inspected, so everything is legal now.  Whew!  I feel somewhat smarter now.

Susan ~ Patchkat

4 responses to “OOOooops!

  1. Oh my gosh! I did exactly the same thing this year! And I felt dumber than dirt! Glad to see I’m in such good company!

  2. Oh yes! Been there – done that! Only I didn’t realize mine had expired until I was stopped by a state trooper…. cost me $151 just for the fine!!! Ridiculous!

  3. DH had a little surprise–we had to get new license plates….every 7 years here. Just adds to the state coffers…

  4. If it makes you feel any better, I just found out last week that my driver’s license expired on May 8th of this year! I never realized it until the lady at the bank pointed it out. Went to the DMV (department of motor vehicles) and gave up when not one person in live walked forward in over 15 minutes (there were at least a dozen people in front of me) and went home to make an appointment on line. I couldn’t renew on line since I did that last time. First available appoinment: August 11th! Good thing I’m not prone to speeding tickets!