Saturday’s mission ~

Our garden has almost burned up.  The lack of sufficient rain and abundant heat/sun has caused large cracks in the ground and enormous numbers of hungry yellow grasshoppers.  The grasshoppers have eaten almost all the leaves off of the roses and the hostas.  As much as I oppose spraying,  I’ve gone through several containers of Seven trying to dispatch and discourage grasshoppers.

In an effort to lower the temp a little on the tomatoes and to hold a little moisture in the soil, we spent today erecting a shade cloth tent over part of the garden.  This is a trial run.  If it helps, then next year IF we plant a garden, we’ll do a more permanent setup.   The shade cloth is supposed to lower the temperature by 15 degrees and cut the heat/sun.  Don’t remember what the percentage is for the blocking, but as you can see, it’s a lot. 

Now to see if the stuff will grow or if the lack of light will be a problem.  There has got to be a solution!   We tried mulching last year.  That seemed to encourage more bugs and molds.   All we want is a few vine ripened tomatoes, lol.

Everything in the buckets that looked so good in the Fall has suffered greatly from the Winter freezes and the Summer heat.   Think we’ve lost all the lilies and most of my herb crop.

Welcome to TEXAS during a drought.

Susan ~ Patchkat

3 responses to “Saturday’s mission ~

  1. I too am fighting I have my herbs in a pot and if I don’t water them consistantly every day they wilt from the sun and heat. These 100+ temps are affecting the flowers which have turned brown, the trees are dropping leaves like crazy and we are told not to water. I guess all we can do is pray for rain and a break in the heat.

  2. Wish I could send you some of our rain……never seems to stop. The temperatures are cooler than normal but I don’t mind that.

  3. I’m sorry your being hit so hard with the drought. After seeing those beautiful tomatoes earlier it breaks my heart. Here in Ruidoso we’re praying every day for some rain so I can sympathize. Just know the rain will come they just haven’t said when. Ann