A little cheer :-)

Not getting much gardening done although Ernie did plant tomatoes, onions, peppers, eggplants, and potatoes.  We’ve had a couple of yummy tomatoes for sandwiches and salads…and he’s eating peppers and green onions as fast as we harvest them!  The first eggplant got cubed and sauteed with onions, a zuchinni, and red potatoes.   We love fresh, fresh, fresh veggies!

While we’re waiting for the big harvest, we’re watching the flowers that have started blooming.

First Daylilies of the season!  I love the fire engine red with those slightly darker centers.  I have 2 pots of these.  Maybe next year we’ll put them in the ground and let them start spreading!

Then there are the pretty yellow climber roses…as you can see, there is more coral than actual yellow.  Don’t they stand out against all that green.   I wish I could remember the name of these.  I just love them.  The branch I rooted didn’t make the last freeze, so I will need to start over with my rooting efforts.

A surprise bonus this year…

I had this pot full of purple wave petunias last year.  They survived the winter and are going strong!  I’ve never had petunias come back.  I’m a happy camper!

Last in today’s lineup…my most favorite roses in the world…Perfumed Delight.  They have the strongest smell of any rose we’ve had in the last 20 years!~ Love them!

 The Lantana is also starting to bloom.  It always attracts the Swallowtail and Sulfer butterflies which I love so much.  Just didn’t get a good picture of the flowers.  Light wasn’t very good.

Isn’t it great to see all the green and so much growing.  We’ve been so dry this year…this is a blessing for us!

Susan ~ Patchkat

2 responses to “A little cheer :-)

  1. Growing up in Michigan on 10 acres with nearly a full acre garden is one of the few non-person-related reasons I really miss being “back home”…just can’t grow the peppers, tomatoes & other veggies down here in Florida….

  2. It looks like a Peace rose to me, gold, yellow, and pink. And I have noticed that the “waves” reseed. I have some that this is the 4th year for them. Should only buy “Waves”, but still try the regular ones too.