Mealtime

I haven’t bored you with dinner photos in awhile.   Tonight’s dinner was inspired by the first asparagus spear of the season!   I cut it in little 1/2″ sections and added it to the baked chicken.   What a delight!  I hope there is lots more asparagus to come.

The chicken…breasts that I had butterflied and marinaded in a mixture of olive oil, fresh garlic, salt, pepper and a seasoned pepper rub.    I popped the chicken into a small baking pan, poured the olive oil mix over it all.  Added the asparagus.  Baked the whole mess uncovered for about 45 minutes at 325 degrees.    I wrapped the pan in aluminum foil when I took it out of the oven and let it rest for about 5 minutes.  

I’m so ready for fresh vegetables.   We still have last year’s okra, squash, green beans and tomatoes in the freezer.   I’ve been rationing everthing out trying to make the fresh, homegrown last until the new crops start coming to the table.   It’s been a yummy Winter of fried okra, soups, and so on with what has come from our freezer.  It’s good to have friends with big gardens and the desire to share!

Susan ~ Patchkat

2 responses to “Mealtime

  1. I so miss our big gardens, lived in Ohio then. We raised everything and I froze and canned all summer, only had to buy meat, milk and bread at store. Husband had stroke and that ended most gardening. I would grow tomatoes and put them up and what ever friends gave me. He died last year and I have moved to Calf. to be close to son, not enough room to grow anything now plus all canning supplies never made the move. Enjoy your garden!!