Another Challenge :-(

Made the trip to Abilene yesterday for a visit with the Oncologist and Radiologist…and wished I could’ve stayed home.  We were praying for really good results after the radiation treatments and the iodine ablation.   NOT.    Results were based on a comparison of CT scans (one from last July and one from last week)…the mass in my lungs is still there and has enlarged a little.  The other mass in my lungs has remained static.  The mass on my right adrenal gland has enlarged slightly, but the mass on the left adrenal gland is gone.   The scapula and pelvic bone both show enlarged tumor areas compared to last July (now remember,  I had scans several months ago BEFORE the radiation treatments).    When I questioned the comparison with the July scan rather than the more recent ones, the Oncologist started looking for the newer scans.  She didn’t understand why they read and compared against the older scans.  

Regardless,  I will have an EKG Friday, and discuss chemo on Monday.  I’ve been told the chemo will make me ill, my hair will fall out sooner rather than later due to the 2 types of chemo drugs used.   Two of the worst for nasuea and not overly effective against the cancer.  

The other POSSIBLE option is “TARGET” drugs.  She was checking with her collegues at MD Anderson on the target drugs.  As I understand it, these go straight to the cancer affected areas and kill off the cancer cells.   She’s looking for a “clinical study” as  Insurance won’t cover them and she says they can run $5000-$7000 per month.   Given the choices, I would opt for the targeted meds, but…financially,  that’s not a choice.

19 responses to “Another Challenge :-(

  1. Soooo sorry to hear of your latest issue. Keep up the good attitude, and you’ll be surprised how much it will help. God bless!!

  2. I was expecting better results since you seem to be feeling better. It distresses me how many treatments are not covered by insurance. I pray that a miracle unfolds for you.

  3. So sorry to hear this outcome. Will continue to pray for you. You seemed to be doing so well.

  4. I don’t post often, I just enjoy your posts.
    But I do want to tell you how sorry I am that you got such crappy news.
    Be STRONG. Now’s the time to go to battle with this nasty disease and kisk a** .
    Don’t let it get you down for long, get mad right back at it!

  5. keeping you and family in my prayers.Have you checked into Cancer treatment centers?A dear friend of mine went there and lived 15 years past what onocoligist had said.

  6. Well, I meant to call at lunch, but did not make it. Was looking for better results, but we can work with these. Prayers will even the field. You know you have a big bunch praying for you.
    WWW

  7. I am very sorry that you did not get good news and will pray for your recovery. Your posts about your family and quiltingf are such an inspiration.

  8. Prayers redoubled. Sorry the news was not better. But you are a very strong person and engulfed in prayers.

  9. This is just devastating news. I was so hoping for all your woes to be at an end. Keeping you in my heart.

    Lynda in Spokane

  10. Susan!~

    Just read this email:

    If you know any woman currently undergoing chemotherapy, please pass the word to her that there is a cleaning service that provides FREE housecleaning – once per month for 4 months while she is in treatment. All she has to do is sign up and have her doctor fax a note confirming the treatment. Cleaning for a Reason will have a participating maid service in her zip code area arrange for the service. This organization serves the entire USA and currently has 547 partners to help these women. It’s our job to pass the word and let them know that there are people out there that care. Be a blessing to someone and pass this information along.

    http://www.cleaningforareason.org//

    You may not know someone going through chemo, but someone on your email list might. Please forward!

    Sounds like it would be a godsend and a load off your mind while you recover from the effects of the chemo.

  11. I too go to an onocologist but mainly for blood. I usually go every 3 to 4 months to run blood test. My oldest son is an oncology pharmasict in a hospital. It is true that the chemo is likely to make you sick but not necessarily lose your hair completely. It may get a little thin to even go bald..it is just how your system handle the chemo. My mil had colon cancer and my brother in law had liver cancer. The chemo made her sick but she didn’t loose her hair. My brother in law couldn’t take chemo..There is 2% of cancer patient that can’t take chemo and he was in that 2% He was able to take radiation, but it made him terrribly sick. I hope everything goes well for you and will say a prayer for you

  12. Well, this is not the news we’ve all been hoping and praying for. Chemo doesn’t make everyone sick, and not everyone loses their hair. My friend Betty had liver cancer, with a very poor prognosis. Chemo slapped that stuff down, she never got sick and never lost her hair. That was in 1990 and she’s still going strong (and is now 82!) We’ll hope and pray you respond as well. I’ve been reading along and enjoying your posts but have been too LAZY to write! Love you bunches!
    Auntie Deb

    • No, wasn’t what we wanted to hear, but there’s a reason for everything…anyhow, I’m doing an EKG tomorrow to see if my heart is healthy enough for the chemo…then I’ll see the oncologist Monday afternoon to decide on a course of treatment.

      If the hair goes…Who knows, maybe it will grow back red and curly rather than dishwater brown/grey and straighter than a board! Hey…one could wish :-)

  13. The Bible says if you have faith the size of a mustard seed He will heal you. Reach out to Him and ask for His faith and walk in what He gives you. God loves you. You will be prayed for in this house also.