What to do with Green Tomatoes?

My all time favorite is Green Tomato Soup!  Green tomatoes are tart and offer a totally different taste.  I chop and freeze green tomatoes at the end of the growing season just for this soup.   I use ham broth (with the grease skimmed off)  from an oven roasted ham, but you can substitute chicken broth with great results.    A shake or two of Louisiana Hot Sauce, tossed salad and warm flour tortillas round out our meal.

I use a 6 qt  Dutch Oven.  

  • 1 large onion (diced)
  • 3 cloves of garlic (minced)
  • 1 stalk celery with leaves (finely chopped)
  • butter (or margarine)
  • 4 cups ham broth or chicken broth
  • 1/3 lb ham (diced)
  • 4 cups chopped green tomatoes
  • 1 cup chopped red tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 tsp celery salt
  • salt, pepper

Optional – 1-2 small jalapeno peppers (seeded and finely chopped)

Saute onion, celery and garlic in butter on low heat until onion turns translucent.  Add diced ham, broth, and tomatoes.  If you’re using jalapeno add it now.  Heat to a boil then reduce, cover and simmer for 30 – 40 minutes.  Add sour cream, celery salt, salt and pepper to taste before serving.  I use a hand held immersion blender to mix in the sour cream and give the soup a creamier texture. 

Susan ~ Patchkat

6 responses to “What to do with Green Tomatoes?

  1. Have you every heard Guy Clark playing Home Grown Tomatoes? I great song for those of us who love our gardens! If you go the google videos you’ll find it. Sally

  2. I love fried green tomatoes: dip slices in beaten eggs then italian bread crumbs then fry in butter – sinful and not eaten often for obvious reasons! LOL
    This soup sounds like a much better and healthier way to enjoy them! Thanks for posting – I’m going to try it out the next time we can find green tomatoes. Down here in Florida, it’s not as easy to grow tomatoes as it was in Michigan…

  3. Your soup sounds great, I’ll have to try it. Being from the South, and like Christene, I love them fried. I freeze 1/4″ slices (lay them out on a cookie sheet to freeze, then put them in a gallon zip bag) so I can enjoy them all year. Just a note: fry them partially frozen or they will be a mess.
    I also make Green Tomato Pickles, sweet and dill. these are great.
    Thanks for sharing your recipe,
    Lisa

    • One of my friends shared a wonderful green tomato, onion and jalapeno pickle recipe several years back…I made them and my Dad loved ’em. We also like them fried! We lost all the tomatoes this year before they ever had a chance to do much, so praying for better health and a better garden this year!

  4. Susan, this sounds delicious. And original. Love Fried Green Tomatoes, never thought of having them any other way! Thanks for sharing!