A Lot to be Thankful For ~

Wishing all who celebrate the warmest, happiest Thanksgiving ever!  May your family play nice, your plates be full and the kitchen fairies come clean for you!

Ernie baked bread this evening…check it out :-)  It smells so yummy.  I would love to dig in now, but I’ll wait till tomorrow.  It may be in jeopordy for toast making though!

While he was baking,  I cooked Spaghetti sauce (with garden tomatoes and shredded zucchini) for Friday’s dinner.    

 

 

 

 

 

I baked 2 pumpkin pies with Mrs. Smith’s help for Thanksgiving dinner.  I’ll whip cream to go on them in the AM.   Just can’t get in the mood for messing with pies…I know,  JudyL just disowned me as a friend!   I promise,  I will try to do better for Christmas! At least,  we will be eating homemade pecan pies from our wonderful friend, Wanda.  She brought pecan pies, fruit cake and a casserole when she came to pick us up on Monday! 

Speaking of that…Ernie had his 2 week checkup in Dallas on Tuesday.  Wanda drove us to/from Dallas.  We stayed overnight and had a yummy dinner at Olive Garden.

The best news…ERNIE’S PATHOLOGY REPORTS SHOW ALL CLEAR!!!!  Out of all the tissue samples and the 41 lymph nodes tested, there were NO CANCER CELLS!!!  That means the surgery was successful.  He’ll be doing routine scans to watch for any reccurence, but for now…He’s well! His incision is healing well and we’ll go back next Tuesday to have the catheter removed!!!

For us,  this is a definite time of Thanksgiving.  We are so blessed with family, friends, the roof over our heads, food for our bellies and our health.   Ernie’s Mom’s cancer appears to be gone,  Ernie’s cancer is gone and mine is being treated.  It will be awhile before we know how effective the radiation treatment was, but I’m expecting to repeat that treatment in about  6 months before I get an all clear.  Such a different outlook than what we were faced with in July.  GOD does work miracles and answer prayers!!!

Susan ~ Patchkat

18 responses to “A Lot to be Thankful For ~

  1. Such wonderful news, Susan!! Happy Thanksgiving to you and all the family! We are going over to Lisa’s to eat. It is a blessing to have them so much closer!

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you both. Was thinking of you today, so your post was the answer to my prayers.

  3. Thank God for Ernie’s good news. May you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

    Blessings. Karen

  4. Great news about Ernie! I’m so happy for you both. Seems like you’re motivating around; that’s great. Ernie needs to come visit in TN so he can bake some bread up here. Have a great day, y’all.

  5. Hallelujah! Yer ole Auntie is overjoyed and though we don’t celebrate Thanksgiving on this date in Canada I am celebrating it because your news is good. Enjoy your day, and eat a piece of that pecan pie for me.

    Hugs and much love!

    Aunt Deb

  6. I’m so glad to hear your news. There’s so much to be thankful for on this day. I continue to pray for you and your husband. I have finished my chemotherapy for my lymphoma and just had my maintenance medication yesterday. I hope that I will have a PET scan soon and hear that I’m in remission.

  7. We all have a lot to be thankful for, on this day ans well as all the rest of the days; but your family has extra special thanks to give for Ernie’s great test results!

    Th best to you and your family.

    Lynda in Spokane