Goodbye, Big Boy

DH carried the trash down to the dumpster and saw Red (Big Boy) the rooster beheaded and hanging on the neighbor’s clothesline.   Stopped and visited with the neighbor to find out what happened….seems a dog killed him.  Neighbor tried to save, but he was injured too badly, so she finished the job, drained and cleaned.   Red will now be someone’s dinner.  That’s a shame.  We were getting to enjoy the old boy’s antics.

Country life is hard sometimes.

Susan ~ Patchkat

6 responses to “Goodbye, Big Boy

  1. Reminds me of when I was quite young-yes way back then. We lived in the country. Decided to get several chickens to fatten and cook. they of course became pets, when it came time to putting them on our table-we just sat there and looked at them. Our neighbors had several meals.! We never again raised chickens.

  2. We also had chickens and the day “Sunshine” (who met her fate the same way as poor Red) was put on the dining room table, I think I stayed at a girlfriend’s house overnight.
    So sorry to hear about Red – I’m sure you’ll miss his voice and antics!

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about Red. :-( Chickens can be so entertaining. I love our girls.

  4. So sorry to hear about Red. Happened to my neighbor. The dog owner didn’t seem to care too much that he killed our neighbor’s pet. Country-life happens, it still is a shame.