A little perkier outlook – or…I’m feeling somewhat better, lol

Ernie came home with some fresh greenbeans.  I did some stringing, threw them in a pot with a some ham slices, garlic, salt and pepper.   Made a pan of cornbread and fixed a big garden salad.   So far,  so good.  

I pieced a couple of blocks to send to a friend on the Sunshine list for a quilt that will go to a friend of one of her friends who lost everything in a tornado.  These are 12″ blocks.  She asked for shades of green, purples and blues with red pointies.   Should make a real pretty quilt for Kandee.

These are Crumb Stars…and with some sashing, they’ll make a fun quilt for a child. 

I enjoy working with the scraps to make stacks and stacks of “crumb” blocks.   I started making “crumbs” while we were living overseas as fabric was soooo expensive and good cottons weren’t easily available. 

After our sewing workshops,  I gathered scraps from those who weren’t saving them and started sewing them together.  Once I had large enough sections pieced,  I cut squares.   The squares have been used in a number of different blocks, in sashings and in borders.   It’s always fun to work with the scraps and turn someone’s trash into a useable quilt block!

Susan ~ Patchkat

Comments are closed.