Plums anyone?

The neighbors brought several bags of plums Sunday.  I trayed them to allow a few to ripen, and finally sat down last night to pit them…pitting done,  ready to start cooking down ~ while they were cooking,  I got my jars boiling and set everything up to fill.

Looked like they had thickened up nicely, got them jarred and in the BWB for the required 15 minutes.  Don’t they look pretty…

Looks can be deceiving…this morning, they are still runny :-(  

So,  after I get dinner going,  I’m going to empty these back into the pan,  do some more cooking, add some pectin or something, rewash jars and start over.   This was only the first batch…I have at least 2 more batches from what I already pitted and now,  I have 2 more large trays waiting to be pitted!   I couldn’t say “no” after the neighbor went to the trouble to pick them and deliver…could I ?

Susan ~ Patchkat

2 responses to “Plums anyone?

    • 2nd time around, they did great. Had some on a bagel this AM….yum! I’ll end up with about 20-25 half pints!