Strawberry Preserves

What fun.  After the quilt show and the community dinner,  I threw a load of clothes in the washer and started the Strawberry Preserves.  Ernie came in and mashed half the berries while I was washing jars and loading them in the boiling water for sterilization.  Then it was into the pot with the sugar, lemon juice and 1 cup of red wine!   Smells heavenly.  The alcohol burns off leaving a pretty color and a nice taste.   

An hour of so later,  here’s the end result!  9 half pint jars of home canned yumminess.   I think that’s it for this year’s preserves.   We don’t eat a bunch of jellies and preserves, but I love having them on hand when we have company.

Wanda sent home 2 bags of squash.   The zuchinni’s can be shredded for Zuchinni pizza and frozen.  I also make a killer sweet relish using zuchinni. 

I’ve decided that yellow squash is nasty when canned.  I do use some frozen squash for soups, so maybe I’ll cut and freeze some of this batch.

Susan ~ Patchkat

4 responses to “Strawberry Preserves

  1. Sounds like you’ve been very busy! I put up 8 half pints of cherry jam yesterday and froze blue berries. Nothing beats summer fruits in the winter. Would love to have your zuchinni relish recipe.

  2. I’ve never heard of zucchini pizza. Would you consider sharing your recipe on your blog for all of us pizza lovers?