Apricots, apricots and more apricots!

Tonight was the night to deal with the apricots that the nice Boss Lady brought me.  I got all the canning stuff out of the pantry, got the jars out, washed and in the water bath to heat and sterilize.   I washed, pitted and cut apricots till I was sick of them. 

But look at them cooking.   I think apricots are such a pretty color.  Took almost an hour to cook them down to where I wanted them.  These didn’t use pectin, so they may not set up very firm, but that’s okay.   I’m thinking how yummy they’ll be on toast, ice cream and/or pancakes.

Here’s the finished product.  Not too bad for a night’s work.  6 half pints and 4 pints.     I’ve been listening to the pinging of the lids after their time in the water bath.  

So,  the apricots are done for the year and it’s time to move on to  strawberries.   That’s what I hope to put up tomorrow evening after the Community Dinner.  

Ernie loves strawberry, but apricot is second only to plum for me.

Susan ~ Patchkat

 

2 responses to “Apricots, apricots and more apricots!

  1. Your apricot preserves look yummy! I just found your blog and am enjoying it. Thanks!