Cats and snakes don’t always mix

Blondie and a rattlesnake tangled Sunday night late…we were at the vet by midnight.  I just brought one very lucky little kitty home this evening.

I think he looks pretty happy.  He’s only 1 year and 3 days old….and very, very lucky according to the vet.

He’ll be on antibiotics for 10 days, and hopefully, he’ll leave the snakes alone. 

His leg and foot look much better today.   The uppermost spots on his leg are fang marks.  There is substantial blood bruising on his paw.   The foot was swollen as tight as the skin would go by the time we got to the vet.

Blondie is the second of our kitties to tangle with slithery serpents.    Muckley got bit by a copperhead a year or so ago.   Ernie found that one and blew it to kingdom come.  We haven’t found the rattler yet.  He did spend all day yesterday looking for it though.   Now,  we’re carrying the 410 everywhere…wanting the snake to show it’s self.

Susan ~ Patchkat

7 responses to “Cats and snakes don’t always mix

  1. She is a very lucky kitty!

    My weenie dog Sammie got bit twice last year. Once by a copperhead, and the second time by a hornet. My DH thinks it was a hornet, but I think it was another copperhead.

    Give Blondie a pat from Sammie.

  2. Okay I am NOT coming to visit you — too many snakes. I just put up with sneaky snake – wooden snakes are much more harmless. :-) Hope Blondie heals quickly.

    • He’s doing better. Wanting to go outside, but that’s not happening for awhile. Remember, I didn’t even like Sneaky!

  3. Wow! Does this make me glad I live in Switzerland? It’s scary where you live!!! Glad your puss cat is OK – poor thing, what a nasty experience. I’m sure he will learn from it!
    I love your blog – it’s a whole different world over there! It makes life here seem pretty tame!

    • Helen, it can be a little scary sometimes. But…we knew that when we moved to the country. This is prime venomous snake territory. They all live here. We’ve been fortunate and God has blessed us so much since we’ve moved here. We just need reminders sometimes to be a little more careful and watchful.

      thank you for the nice comment on my blog. I enjoy sharing our life experiences.

  4. OMG! Poor Blondie…I’m glad Ernie blew the last one to bits!! My cats are sending purrrs to Blondie and hope he recovers soon. Muffin, Puss, Horatio, Dusty and Jelly Bean.

    • Blondie seems to be doing well. Of course, it’s time for his next dose of antibiotics and he’s off hiding. Thanks for the well wishes. Blondie will be a housecat for awhile! Vet said a second bite would probably be fatal :-(