Stashbusting Sunday

This wasn’t a real good week, lol…somehow, 12 yds of assorted solid Kona Cottons jumped in my cart at HL today.  I was looking for solids for the QFV that I wanted to make and discovered I was really low on Navy, Light Blue and Ash.  

I also needed more Snow as I’ve used most of what I bought last time on the Defrag quilt.  I promise, I didn’t buy anything I didn’t need!

It’s not ALL bad.   I cut out the QFV except for setting triangles (cause I bought that fabric today). 

I also cut more blocks for the new BOM starting in July.   I’m going with a larger size…I’m using the same fabrics as the Defrag quilt (which is why I needed the Snow) as I’m hoping to use both quilts in the bunkhouse on the twin beds.

Yardage purchased this week – 12 yds 

Yardage used this week –     6.75 yds

Year to date purchased –  68.50 yds

Year to date used  (goal 300 yds) – 206 yds 

old UFOs finished ytd  (goal 10) – 6

 Charity quilt tops ytd (goal 30) – 17

I’m done shopping for the year!   I’m already nearly double what I bought LAST year :-( but I let myself get way low on the basics….not a good thing)

Susan ~ Patchkat 

2 responses to “Stashbusting Sunday

  1. Happy b’day ! I truely believe you deserve 12 yards of fabric in – with over 200 yards out already :)… and you can never go wrong with solids!
    How do you do this? I really need a lesson (or 2)… to learn how to use that much fabric. Hapy sewing!

    • Thank you Barb! Make lots and lots of charity quilts! I cut kits to have on hand for quick sewing. I have gifted much fabric to local quilting group. Srs on fixed incomes…they really appreciate the fabric and will use the stuff I don’t use anymore (polys and poly/blends, denim, cords, twill)

      I can’t believe I have let my solid tub get so low on those basic colors. I love the look of the blues/greys/greens for setting triangles, alternate blocks and borders. They’re soft and restful. Places for the eyes to rest on my otherwise busy quilts.