Look at what I saw on my way home!

I love watching the fields as I go to/from work.  I know the cows, which fields have cute calves, where I’m going to see the Scissor-tailed Flycatchers    with their long tails

or the Red -Tailed hawks.  

I love my drives.  This is my quiet time…

Tickseed and Coreopsis are filling the fields with vibrant golden yellow!  That’s an oak tree in the middle of this field.   This particular field is on Hwy 206 on the East side of the Jim Ned bridges.    

The next one is one of the ranchers pastures on Hwy 206 right outside of Coleman.  He’s already moved his cattle elsewhere, but the field is just starting to show it’s true colors!

Then,  our friends own this pasture on Hwy 206…it’s wheat and almost ready for harvesting.  I love this field.  We’ve seen deer in the evenings and wild turkeys in the early mornings.   There is also a huge Horned Owl who patrols this area and all along the bridge and Bayou.

Yep,  That’s another oak tree in the middle of the pasture.  I haven’t figured out why they leave a tree in the middle…maybe for shade when the cattle are in the pastures?    Another one of those WHY questions.

Oh…and the Burkett Bridge…I love this bridge!

See the 20MPH sign…after Mitzy got hit and Spitfire was killed on this very roadway, I raised cain with our precinct councilman.  We live at the other end of the bridge and the speeders were coming off the bridge at 45-60 MPH.  Way too fast to stop for kids, cattle or cats.  He had the road crew out posting signs the very next day!  Has it helped?  Not really, as there’s no one out here to enforce it.  We run our own survellance and get tag numbers to report the speeders.  One of the joys of living out in the country.   Sometimes, we can even get the County Sheriff to come take care of problems or they’ll get excited when they run a tag.

Susan ~ Patchkat
 
 

 

2 responses to “Look at what I saw on my way home!

  1. The scissor-tail is the first bird I remember. I was maybe three and I saw one perched on the wires in front of our little house on Howard St. in Duncan. I think we’d moved from that house before you were born.

    I’m so tickled to see that it’s still around. You never know these days.

    Hugs,
    Deb

    • Auntie Deb, I remember scissor-tailed flycatchers, mocking birds and cat birds from Duncan. All of those same birdies live here.

      The scissor-tails fascinate me with those tails…when they fly, they actually look like someone attached a pair of long handled scissors point first (ouch!) to their rumps…those circles on the bottom looking like the handles! Just cool looking birds.

      For last two years, there was a pair of cat birds living in the bushes across the street…they’d taunt the cats, fly down and nip at them…I’m thinking they may have taunted one time too many as they don’t seem to be around anymore.

      There is still a mockingbird that loves to trill in the evenings. Some evenings, we get his whole repitoire of local birdie calls as our coffee serenade.

      I love living out here.