Check out the ruffled Iris…wish I knew what flavor they are!

Isn’t this a beauty…too bad the wind knocked them to the ground.

I’m making notes in my garden notebook so I’ll know where they are come dividing time.  They’re crowded in with yellow and purple iris.

While prowling around the side pasture,  I stumbled upon a patch of wild Texas Verbena….so we haven’t lost all our wildflowers!   Can you tell I”m partial to purple flowers?   I just love these little guys…they wave in the breezes and are very dainty looking.

Susan ~ Patchkat

4 responses to “Check out the ruffled Iris…wish I knew what flavor they are!

  1. Those Iris are so pretty I can almost smell them! Bearded Iris have the most heavenly fragrance. Mother brought a bunch back from her last trip to Alabama and we’ve got them in pots right now think we’ll move them to the garden until they bloom and we can see what we have.

    • I love the iris. I think it’s one of the prettiest flowers. I have several bearded iris that haven’t bloomed. Maybe next year!

  2. I’m so envious that you can grow the big, vibrantly colored irises. We did manage to get one gorgeous black iris…really it’s deep, deep, deep purple but it looks black if the sun’s not shining. It had a total of 6 blooms on it’s one stalk. So in the daffodil and iris bed we had one daffodil and one iris bloom…. don’t know what happened to the rest. We live 30 miles off the Gulf Coast and have lots of grub worms, pill bugs, June bugs… and they all like to eat things.

    • This is the first year I’ve seen the purple ruffled ones and I planted them in 2000 in El Paso, TX, transplanted them here in 2003….so it’s been a long time coming! Have patience. The rest of yours are probably still there. We have all the same hungry worms/bugs.