Design wall Monday

I still don’t have a design wall, but we looked at the foam board ( 4 x 8 sheets) today.  Ernie is going to figure out a lite weight frame to hold 2 of those sheets! 

Anyhow,  here are my Batik Double 4’s on my “design table”:

These are 9″ blocks with 1.5″ sashings.  The purple is a dark redish purple and the setting squares are turqouise with different colored squiggles.   I’m not sure which way I’m going to orient the little 4 patches…or if I’m going to  alternate the direction.

The blocks were started in 2004 and I’ve worked on them off and on since.  I’ve used many, many batik, hand dyes and marble scraps in the blocks.   This will finish out between double and queen size.   That’s a BIG quilt for me!  Need to have my machine extended to 9′ by the time this is all together.  

Susan ~ Patchkat

4 responses to “Design wall Monday

    • Thanks. I love the colors and at the time, batiks were pretty new to me, so I bought tons of FQ. Got the moniker of FQ Queen from one group that I shopped with. Now, I hardly look at the FQ…I’m into yardage.

    • Thanks! This was back when I first fell in love with the batiks….then I got tired and they became a UFO.