a few flakes of snow

fell this morning.   I think the major weather split and went north of I-20 and south of us.  Pity.

Thought you might like to see what I’ve been stitching and binding

This is the “Jasmine” Challenge that was unveiled at the TQP LA ROMP several years ago.  I dearly love stars, so it was a given that I would do stars, lol.  I designed the blocks and setting strips to get the secondary design.   It helped that I loved the fabrics.  The piece I chose to work with has a black background with little pink/purple looking paisley designs.  Very pretty fabric.

Then there was a vacation in Texas Hill Country with some good friends.  We swapped Texas themed blocks.  I don’t remember who did all the different blocks, but they all did a wonderful job and I love this quilt too.  It’s in the living room for a quick coverup.

This year’s TQP challenge was real easy…we picked a number and put it in a database.  My friend Denise matched the numbers to her color chart.   We could only use that color and 1 other to make the quilt.   My color was blue-green.     I chose various shades of orange to go with the multiple shades of blue-green. 

I don’t have the colors quite right with the editing,  but you get the idea.  I backed the quilt with koi fish fabric…and quilted it with rippling water.   There’s a dream story behind the fish fabric that I won’t bore you with…but I think it worked well for this particular quilt.

2 responses to “a few flakes of snow

  1. Ahhh, I bought several yards of that same fish fabric about 10 years ago and am still using it. I love it, even though it’s a bit gaudy and “busy”. I bought another Japanese fish print for window panels in the Tinpalace and had about a yard left. I use it to make a throw to lay over the back of the sofa. Look at a photo of it here.

    I have a good friend in Japan who explained that the fish illustrate a legend. The fish gather at the bottom of a huge waterfall and try to jump up. Only one fish in 1000 years makes it, but when it does it becomes an immortal dragon. It’s a story told to children to inspire them to try their best when faced with challenges.

    Dream story???? Tell all!

    Love,
    Aunty Deb

  2. I love your challenge quilt! It is beautiful. And the Texas Romp quilt is great. I recognize some of those blocks as being mine. The wonky star top left is mine…next to it is applique Texas with rose (also mine), I think the red hat is mine and the Route 66 is mine. I’m well represented!