Yes, we have tomatoes…

Friend Wanda brought tomatoes last week.   A box full!    I pulled a bunch of the ripening ones out and let them ripen over the holiday.  Today,  I washed them and chopped them up for the freezer.  No,  I don’t skin them (that extra fiber is a good thing),  I don’t blanche…I just chop and freeze.    

Once they’re in the bags,  they go to the freezer to be used later in soups and stews, meatloafs, stuffed peppers…where ever I need chopped tomatoes.

 

 

The ripe tomatoes were enough for 4 quart size freezer bags!   I still have a half dozen that are ripening nicely.  

I chopped up about 10 green tomatoes for a soup (see an earlier post) and I’m going to run another 10 through the processor to freeze for another batch of soup.  There is also a cake recipe calling for green tomatoes….so I’m going to process enough for at least one cake.  We had fried green tomatoes the other night that were absolutely yummy. 

We love tomatoes…and I’m so allergic to them, lol.   Just means I take those little purple pills to stop the indigestion and the reflux.  A little cortizone cream stops the rash.  And it’s so worth the pain.

What’s on your screen?

Ernie and I are so different…I’m reminded just how much every time I look at his computer.   My old computer desktop was blue so all the icons would show up.  At work, my desktop shows a photo of the Burkett Bridge…an old trestle built in the 1920s.  I love that bridge, lol.   However…my wonderful Husband who hates red AND plaids has this for his desktop!  This tartan plaid came with us from our very first computer in Saudi Arabia…and has been on every computer Ernie has had since.    Makes me think of a comfy much loved flannel shirt! 

With the kids here,  I haven’t done any quilting.  Now that they’ve gone home, the house is straightened up, laundry is done and we’ve eaten…it’s time to sew.  I’m still working on bindings.  Think I have 3 more to get bound.

Daughter Stacie insisted she needed a quilt that I made some years ago…it was one of Ann Smith’s wonderful mystery quilts.    Stacie said it would look much better in HER living room.   Guess that means I’ll have room for another quilt on the rack, which is a good thing :)   Maybe someday,  I’ll find Ann’s instructions and make another one for myself.

Tomorrow,  I’m hoping to load quilts on the HQ16 and get some actual quilting done.  I have a bunch of kid quiltlets that need to be finished and delivered before the weather gets too much colder.   They won’t be keeping anyone warm if they’re still laying in my quilting room.

Remember those loaves of bread?

Here’s the last one…sliced and waiting on some real butter! 

My friend, Wanda, brought me a box of green tomatoes last week.  After the family left today,  I started looking at ways to use green tomatoes besides frying…and I found a green tomato soup that is quite good.  We started tonight’s dinner with salad, soup and fresh bread…moved onto sirloin & potatoes…sweet for me,  white for Ernie.   Made for some pretty good eating!