Fancies!

I made “fancies” for the Community Dinner…fanciesdon’t they look yummy :)   There weren’t many left on the big tray I carried up there (and I had kept a few at home, of course!)

We had loads of great food, played Bingo (I won 3 games and turned in my card so I wouldn’t get run out of town!)  Funds from the evening and the  Bingo cards were donated to the Volunteer Fire Dept.  Every little bit helps :)

People looked at a  map my Boss Lady is putting together of Burkett in the 40s and 50s.  She grew up here, and is doing the Memory Lane thing….she’s found a few photos, a news clipping or two and is now working on the map of where the businesses were.  Yes,  this was a thriving little town back then…and now,  we’re only about 30 families.  The oil wells were cut off and the people moved on.  The farmers and ranchers have stayed and are still trying to make a living.  Many hold full time jobs in addition to their farming/ranching endeavors. 

Hunting is the big thing right now.  Most everyone leases their land and looks forward to the season.  We don’t have enough to lease, lol…and we’re between two roads so no shooting from our property.  

 

Comments are closed.