did you ever wonder…

what a $130.00 cake looks like?

DSCF9800  this is a slice of Ernie’s Perfectly Chocolate German Chocolate Cake.   The cake was auctioned at last night’s Burkett Volunteer Fire Department’s annual BBQ.  $130.00!  Nice profit for the kitty.   Had one cake that brought $400.00!!!!   I didn’t do any baking this year.   Just not enough energy.  But fortunately,  Ernie enjoys cooking and baking.

The cake is absolutely yummy….and so rich, there ought to be a law!

Think the meals, auction and door prizes brought in a tidy amount to help outfit our newest fire truck.  We’ve had 3 fires out here recently…one a bunch of hunters who went to cook their dinner…blew up the trailer they were staying in…sent 6 of them to the hospital.  I understand they were airlifted to Dallas.  The propane tank they hooked up to the cook stove had a leak.   The fire department found the base of the trailer and not a lot more.   Haven’t heard an update on the injured men.  Praying for their full recoveries.

Pretty tired today, so I think I’ll take a nap.

Susan ~ Patchkat

5 responses to “did you ever wonder…

  1. Sure looks yummy….Would he share his receipe with me??      (I think I spelled it wrong)  oh well you know what I mean….Betty

    ________________________________

  2. Ernie, I don’t need your recipe, but you could bake me one and I’ll come get it.

  3. That looks scrumptious! A husband who can cook is a treasure! Prayers for energy to rain down on you.

    Love you lots,
    Auntie Deb

    • Oh, Ernie can cook, bake and grill with the best of them! And eat your hearts out….he even cleans up after himself and does laundry too!!!! I have been so blessed with my helpmate. Thank you Lord!