Plans for the New Year?

“Thus saith the Lord, which maketh a way in the sea, and a path in the mighty waters; Remember ye not the former things, neither consider the things of old. Behold, I will do a new thing; now it shall spring forth; shall ye not know it? I will even make a way in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert.” Isaiah 43:16, 18-19 KJV

Isn’t it great to have a scripture for the New Year? Forget what’s past…you cannot change it…Look forward to the new life the Lord will provide for 2014! There’s nothing HE cannot do…or anything that HE hasn’t already overcome for us! Great thoughts.

Happy-20New-20Year!-202

Now…for us…we’re staying in tonight! Call us “fuddy duddies”, but neither of us drinks much, so certainly not worth clubbing. Neither of us likes to drive at night, so we’re pretty limited here in Burkett for NYE activities. Someone is usually firing off fireworks at midnight.

You’ll find us curled up in front of the fireplace, hot chocolate in hand. There will probably be an old movie on the TV and I’ll be hand stitching quilt bindings with a couple of cats in my lap. All that works well for me!

We have dinner with friends tomorrow. Since it’s at their house, all I have to do is cook fresh green beans and a dessert. Easy peesy.

NY Resolutions? I no longer make those. Never kept them anyway, so was a waste of time and breath. Only thing I’ve done new for 2014 is made up a menu for the whole month of January! We’ve shopped for the few things we needed and everything else is in the freezer. Ernie keeps us in biscuits for breakfast and even sometimes bakes a few loaves of bread.

If I had wishes for things to do in 2014, I would like to become more self sufficient, more efficient in my purchasing, cooking and better at rotating stuff in the freezer. I’m hoping having a set menu will help. If I can make it through January…then February will be easier!

Susan ~ Patchkat

4 responses to “Plans for the New Year?

  1. Thank you so very much for your delightful posts. Also, thank you for your many scriptural notes – they are always so ‘what we need at the time’.

    I love your idea of making your menus up a month in advance. I wish you much success at that because it will eliminate so much of “gosh, what should we have tonight” worries. Maybe you could send us your menus for the month. I know we all have different tastes but what fun to try out something new and still have it so organized. It’s really something I would like to try even though my husband only eats about a tablespoon of food at a meal now (terminal cancer – mesothelioma).

    I’m going to make ‘slum gully’ for tonight which is onions, hamburger, elbow macaroni, kidney beans and whatever I have on hand all cooked and mixed together. As a family, we always loved that. One of my daughter’s in law called it Slop but I like my name better (VBG).

    Have a wonderful new year and enjoy your new vehicle!

    Carolyn

  2. Wow! That post was a carbon copy of how I’ve been thinking about NYE and the coming year! I just downloaded a free book yesterday from Amazon about meal planning for the entire year! Do it once, and you’re done!! (Haven’t looked at it yet, though, so not sure how it works yet.) My DH and I also stay home on NYE. We aren’t drinkers either (a little wine once in a great while), and I hate to go out in the cold, so we always stay home. I’ll probably NOT have hot chocolate – it bothers my stomach (gerd). I try not to eat anything for 4 hours before bedtime. Hopefully I’ll have my sewing machine set back up, after putting it away for Christmas, so I can get some sewing done this evening, too!! Enjoy your NYE!!!

    • I have wine occassionally…I just killed a small glass of Chocolate Wine…and I’m done for the night. Might stay awake to see the ball drop, but probably not. I sewed all afternoon Sunday and will sew tomorrow evening. Too tired tonight to think straight much less thread my machine. Happy New Year!

  3. WOW I am impressed–a month worth of menus. Sounds like something I should do. Enjoy your new car. I have a friend who loves her Escape. I personally love my heated seats. Don’t know how we ever lived without them. Happy New Year…………….